picture inspiration, sun flares & advice from the dudes

I recently signed up for an online course … my first ever and the first photography-related course I’ve taken since the Intro to Nikon D70 class that I took … uhm … 6 years ago. On week one, we had to take a self portrait … pretty easy because of my 52 week project. This week, the theme is “Finding a little rhythm” … which got me thinking. Rhythm is exactly what I’m lacking these days with the hubby being so busy at work and other stuff which I haven’t told you about. So I’ve decided that it’s time to step back and find me some.

I’m going to take a little break from blogging … for how long, I don’t know. So I thought I’d share a couple of happy images and thoughts before I go.

Picture Inspiration – Week 2 “Finding a little rhythm”
I took this photo earlier in the year and thought of it immediately after reading this week’s theme.


Big Picture Classes

Sun flares
I wrote a beginner’s guide to capturing sunflares at the Paper Heart Camera last week. It was a lot of fun taking new sun flare photos. Here’s one of my favourites. I’m hoping the weather brightens and warms up soon so I can start practicing outside.

Advice from the Dudes
This is part of a conversation I overheard between my 3 1/2-year-old and soon-to-be 5-year-old. They were making up rules.

“Don’t touch fire. Don’t touch batteries.”
“Don’t touch dinosaurs.”
“Don’t knock down trees. They’ll bonk you on the head.”
“Don’t go out. A snowstorm can blow you away.”

And with that, have a very lovely weekend all. I hope to return with some lovely spring photos.

6 thoughts on “picture inspiration, sun flares & advice from the dudes

  1. Cynthia! Thanks for stopping by my blog and for leaving a comment. Sorry to hear that you are going to stop blogging for a bit, but go and find some Joy :-). It is hard sometimes to remember that there is a lot of joy around us. We just have to stop and notice and feel. It is like any habit, we just have to keep doing it! Looking forward to seeing your beautiful pictures on Picture Inspiration this year!

  2. Cynthia, thanks for the great photos.
    The picture with the boys is so beautiful, so touching… Can’t expllain what it does to me.
    Take your time, enjoy the break! Have a beautiful inspiring spring.

  3. love your work…the images are beautiful…i will be following now. I am so glad you stopped by and left a comment on my BLOGGING NOW POST. I have a Nikon D3000 and love taking photos but could stand to learn a bit…so I shall here.

  4. Oh, my! I saw your sunflare post on PHC and fell in LOVE!! I’m so looking forward to finding all the sun-flares I can!! And I adore the pic you included above with your kids.

    Enjoy your blogging break!!! Hope you can come back (if you so choose) refreshed and ready to jump back in on your terms!

Leave a Reply

