scavenger hunt sunday

I say it again and again — This is my absolute favourite photo challenge. The community it draws together is so incredibly supportive and Ashley Sisk has a great deal to do with that. I’m awed every week by the talented photographers who share their work there. I always feel like I’m missing out when I don’t have the time to visit other participant’s sites. I just want to soak every image in. I have so much to learn.

This is Me
This is me almost every week … taking a self-portrait for my 52-week project. I fell off track in mid-Dec when family matters and Christmas began to take over my life. I also blame all the highly addictive, free iPad game apps which have more than consumed me this past month. But thanks to Chelsey’s support at The Paper Mama, I feel renewed and more than ready to continue with the project.

Resolutions
I didn’t make any resolutions this year. I’m a slacker … I prove this every year. But for the purpose of this photo challenge, I will make one resolution that seems more doable than losing weight and giving up junk food. This year I resolve to find the top of this poor Wise Man’s head before December 1st when I bring out our advent calendar again.

Treasured
I treasure every moment I get to spend with these three.

Innocence
Even when his eyes are filled with defiance, there is nothing that says innocence than the face of a small child.

Primitive
I drew a blank with this theme so I went through my images taken this past week and was prepared to go even further back. And then I saw my 3-year-old’s painting … a multi-media piece with indistinguishable shapes painted using primary colours and white chalk scratched across it. A primitive but priceless work of art of a child.

Visit Ramblings and Photos by Ashley Sisk to see how others interpreted this week’s themes.

Here are the themes for next weekend’s challenge:

  1. A Different View (next week’s Paper Mama theme)
  2. Looking Up (next week’s Paper Heart Camera theme)
  3. Abstract (Shannie’s Suggestion)
  4. Hair (Shannie’s Suggestion)
  5. Half (Shannie’s Suggestion)
11 thoughts on “scavenger hunt sunday

  1. I always look forward to your interpretations…you are just incredible. And I completely agree with your statement above. I love the community that is created through this challenge. I look forward to seeing what each of you will do each week and I love the support that is passed along. It really is wonderful and I’m glad to have you be a part of it!

  2. Hahaha, I love your son’s face. It truly is innocence to see their emotions so honestly expressed on their face.
    Your shots this week are really amazing. I think my favorite is your son’s painting. The composition is beautiful!

  3. his painting is superb. I hope you framed it! (Especially love that the kids are in the background still at work.) Your self portrait and innocence are truly great captures.

Leave a Reply

